5 reasons why I am a Book Lover

Hi, I am a self-confessed bookaholic.

A lot of people have always asked me – “why do you read so much? How do you find time to read? ” For me, reading has been an escape into another world so disconnected yet connected to my own. It would not be exaggerating to say that they have played a major role in shaping the “principles” of my life.

So why I am in love with books?

1. I want to live a million lives like literally

“A reader lives a thousand lives before he dies, said Jojen. The man who never reads lives only one.”
George.R.R.Martin (A Dance with Dragons)


2. Books offer each one their own customized portals to other worlds

“Books are a uniquely portable magic.”
Stephen King (On Writing : A Memoir of the Craft)


3. I believe that literature (in this case in the form of books) offers one of the biggest gateways to understanding the culture/history of a country.

“Books permit us to voyage through time, to tap the wisdom of our ancestors. The library connects us with the insight and knowledge, painfully extracted from Nature, of the greatest minds that ever were, with the best teachers, drawn from the entire planet and from all our history, to instruct us without tiring, and to inspire us to make our own contribution to the collective knowledge of the human species.”
Carl Sagan (Cosmos)


4. The stories and characters become a part of me.

“No story lives unless someone wants to listen. The stories we love best do live in us forever”
J.K.Rowling


5. Inspire to learn more

“Indeed, learning to write may be part of learning to read. For all I know, writing comes out of a superior devotion to reading.”
Eudora Welty (On Writing)


When I think of my dream house, this is one inseparable part of it.

My own personal Library!

So why do you love books? 🙂

Leave a Reply

